XC Mountain Bike Sizing help

Would be greatly appreciated if anyone can help me out on choosing the correct size for my first real XC mountain bike.

I’m currently looking at BMC Two Stroke. Geometry seems to be newb friendly? (Please confirm lol)
I’m pretty sure I should get size small??

Background:
-Height 169CM (longer on the torso side)
-Total newb at mountain biking. Would like to deep my toe into mountain biking and eventually race local XC events
-Hardcore road cyclist. (ride 52cm Tarmac with quite an aggressive position. 4.5FTP on a good day)
-63KG

Post a geometry chart for the bike. You could be a small or medium frame depending on how they size their bikes.

Capture 2

Thank for your help.

Based on the reach numbers i’d say a medium but you should see if you can try them. This video also does a pretty good explanation of how you want to size a bike.

Thanks for the response. The video is great but I’m just now more confused lol… seems to be the message of the video is don’t buy larger bikes… but you are recommending me a medium…??

I would love to try out some bikes but it’s just not possible with current situation.

Just to add more info:
My inseam is just slightly shorter for my height. ( just don’t have a way to measure accurately at the moment).
I would prefer more of an aggressive position.

Also the bike will be mainly used for climbing steady gradient and I won’t be tackling courses that are too technical…

1 Like

Maybe I missed it, but is there a reason you aren’t checking with a local bike shop for sizing?

When possible, especially for new riders, getting you in person and on a bike (multiple sizes) is really handy. I get that some shops and general bike availability can be an issue, but I at least want to reinforce that you should take any chance you can with real people in person vs pure number crunching on line.

1 Like

Hey Chad,