Intense Sniper XC sizing question

Good Day Gents,

I’m a total newb when it comes to MTB and need help on sizing.

I want to get into XCO and currently looking at Intense Sniper XC.

https://intensecycles.com/products/snip … tion-build

My height is 169cm and I ride Cervelo size 51. For road bikes, I’m always used to sizing down if i’m between sizes.

Should I go with medium or small? According to their sizing chart, I should be on medium but I always sticked to small and XS for my road bikes.

Thanks for the help

I’d look at it in terms of stack and how much drop you want saddle-bars. For MTBs I generally suggest riding the largest size where you can hit your drop numbers, as that will let you run a shorter stem and keep that front wheel out in front of you. It looks like the Sniper XC has a pretty slack front end for a XC bike.

Of course, the best possible way to do this is to go to your local bike shop and try some bikes. Then buy a bike from said local shop, and maintain a good relationship with this local shop. Everyone wins that way.

1 Like

You really need to make sure the fit is right, its hard to get everything right just by looking at the numbers. Normally though, I’d recommend sticking with the suggested sizing unless you have a specific reason not to.

This bike is designed around having a fairly long reach. If you size down, you loose some of that. You can always shorten the stem if you need. If you ever think you may swap up to a fork with more travel, this will reduce reach by a decent amount.

I almost had to swap to a shorter dropper when I bought my last bike. I have to slam it all the way down to get my saddle in the right spot. It was close though. The medium has an extra 25mm of drop, which could matter for you.

There’s not a big difference in stack, just 5mm. Unless you’re the type to always slam your stem and get as low as possible, you can probably just adjust either to have the same effective drop.