What to eat during before/during/after those hard workouts

Hi all,
I have been using Trainerroad for more than 2 years, a great tool.
First question: who likes to train more inside then outside? I just cannot seem to find a good ride here in my area to really do those wattages and stay within the limit. I go always to high. I am getting really addicted to those numbers.

Second question, like most people I work 5 days a week, 10 hours a day. For me it is very difficult to really get those workouts in my schedule and to really understand how to eat to perform and have the right nutrition afterwards. I assume a lot of people have those same issues?

I was looking at drinking stuff like this:

But what then afterwards?

What time of day do you ride?

I ride first thing in the morning before getting ready for work. For high intensity rides the following day, I make sure that I have something decent (mostly making sure I have good carbs) to eat the night before.

In the morning, what I eat pre-ride is based on this “formula” (10 mins to wake up, get up, eat, get on the bike):

• Easy/Aerobic ride: glass of water, nothing else
  • High intensity ride (1 hr): 1 slice of multigrain toast with honey, cup of coffee
  • High intensity ride (>1 hr): 2 slices of multigrain toast with honey, cup of coffee

Post-ride breakfast (or rest day) I have the same thing:

• Overnight oats (1/4 cup oats, 1/4 cup eggwhites, 1/4 cup water, scoop greek yogurt, small handful of raisins, 1 banana grated, 1 small apple grated, cinnamon; all mixed together in a bowl and left in the refrigerator overnight)
  • Water
5 Likes

Thanks. Looks great that overnight oats bowl.
Most of the time I ride around 7 PM in the evening hence the hassle.

For evenings, then it depends on your lifestyle.