Tubeless Tire goes flat overnight

Hello fellow TR members,

I recently got a new pair of mavic aksium elite ust. This is my first time going tubeless. I noticed my front tire would gradually go deflated overnight if I just put it aside and it goes flat in a few days. However, I don’t seem to encounter any leaking issue when I go out for a ride if the tire is fully pumped up. I went out for a 4 hour ride yesterday and it was still well pumped when I got back. This morning, it’s only half-pumped though.

I injected 30ml of sealant when I first set it up 3 weeks ago. Does this have something to do with the tire itself or sealant? Thanks.

have you tries putting soapy water all over the tire to see where the leak is coming from? it could be in the sidewall, along the bead, the valve or the tubeless tape.

1 Like

check your sealant, a couple months ago I put on a new set of tubeless tires and needed to add sealant after a week or two (noticed they were quickly losing air). Was surprised at how much sealant had coated the inside of the tires! To do that:

• take the tires off bike
  • suspend tires
  • remove valve core
  • insert “dipstick” and check on sealant level (like checking engine oil in a car)
  • add sealant if needed

Helps to have a dipstick and mark level after installing the tires, so you know the level when full.

1 Like

Some slow leaks are easier to detect by submerging the wheel/tire into a tub or bucket of water. Be patient, and if you see bubbles, even tiny ones, that is the source of the leak.

Pro tips from the early days of tubeless:

• add a little bit more sealant for initial set up. Makes life so much easier.
  • Inflate tire to minimum ridable pressure, it should wobble. Ride around your house. This will strech the sidewalls, small leaks will pop up, sealant can reach this leaks.

And something like Caffeelatex makes life so much easier as well. The foaming agent helps getting those small leaks.

And there is a learning curve with tubeless …