Training using erg mode

Hi,

I’m new to training with this application and was wondering if I should be using erg mode or change it to standard? The workouts are set by default using ERG mode and I’m really usure what to do. I want to be able to sustain my power outdoors and it feels like ERG mode might not be the right approach as its simulated.
Any thoughts or suggestions?

You can use whatever mode you’d like but personally I prefer ERG because it doesn’t allow you to let up during intervals, if you start losing leg speed you’re still expected to produce the same wattage, which ERG will make sure you do. Using standard when your leg speed falls off will result in lower watts. That said, standard is closer to reality than ERG. ERG also helps you not to overshoot watt targets.

I think the higher the intensity, the less erg more works well, especially for ‘max’ or sprint efforts.
For lower intensity efforts I really like it. This keeps me at the right effort level when watching movies, etc. For the trainers I have used (previously kickr, now H3) the erg adjustments are slow enough that I don’t think it is altering the power during an individual pedal stroke to a meaningful degree. If you quickly increase your cadence, you can overshoot the power by a significant margin, and if intra-pedal stroke adjustments were being aggressively made I think this overshoot would be much more minor. Note that this will vary between trainers, and ones like the Tacx Neo series may be different, as there is no flywheel. The steadier your cadence, the less of a difference erg vs non-erg will make.
If you have your keyboard/mouse/phone close by and can adjust the erg level during intervals it does make getting the intensity correctly set easier. I think this is important especially for harder intervals.
You will find that there are a lot of strongly held opinions/preferences regarding erg vs non-erg, so be prepared to make up your own mind :slight_smile:

Personal preference.