Thoughts about using Rollers in addition to Smart Trainer

Anyone here use both rollers and smart trainer at the same time? I’ve been using a smart trainer for the last 2 years but looking at maybe switching things up and using rollers from time to time.

One limitation I understand (or believe) with rollers are they have a maximum level of power you can put on them. The older ones are just spinning legs but the one I am looking at does allow you to set a higher level of resistance. (Elite Arion Mag Roller). Not sure if the price point can justify maybe once/twice a week ride. I still think smart trainer will be my primary source of indoor training.

Thoughts?

great idea - been doing it for years! In fact currently I enjoy the rollers more and use them pretty much exclusively, but having both is perfect as ramp tests etc are not great on rollers, and as you say, very high wattage intervals can be a challenge depending on your chice of rollers. You will find you need to fiddle alittle with tyre pressures and gearing combos to hit specific wattage targets but with variable resistance you’ll be able to do it surprisingly easily - I can get within 1-2w of my target wattages despite only having a few resistance settings.

I just find them so much more engaging for indoor work. The little extra mental and physical effort required, even when you have hundreds of hours on them, makes indoor work just a touch more enjoyable. Rememeber that out of the saddle is really hard unless you have floating rollers, but I dont find that an issue. They definitely benefit form as well.

2 Likes

I use rollers for any easier rides (Z2 and recovery rides). Works well. I found high effort intervals really difficult as I had to hit crazy high cadences - which are nothing like what I do when racing outside so felt it wasn’t helpful. I still use a smart turbo for interval work.

1 Like