Taking sweet spot outdoors

I’ve just started up with TR so structured training is pretty new to me. I want to try to ride outdoors as much as possible whilst trying to emulate the scheduled TR session.

With sweet spot how important are is it to maintain a high cadence? Yesterday I went out and did repeats on a hill which almost perfectly matched the required timings, but some of the ramps were steep which meant grinding in bottom gear at 50rpm, and also meant freewheeling for portions of the descents during the recovery phase.

Secondly, How important are the interval durations? I would prefer to pick a circular route taking in lots of up and down, rather than just repeats on one hill (flats isn’t an option round me). Would an outdoor ride that ended with the same ratio of work to rest as the scheduled workout be OK, even if some of the intervals were significantly longer and some shorter than those prescribed?

Thanks in advance

I am no expert but I would think if you are working very close to your correct power zone ( won’t be erg mode and will jump around a lot more), length of effort and TSS aligns very closely for the full ride then you are good to go.

I think if you’re having to grind away at 50 rpm then you’re likely not targetting what the workout was trying to achieve. I sometimes do the sweetspot workouts outside. I usually do a big long flat ride and use my power meter to roughly do the same power as the workout. I keep the durations the same.

My suggestion is important workouts like interval workouts are best done inside. Lower intensity rides and especially the easy rides can be done outside. With these when I do them outside I don’t usually bother too much with the power. I just use the power meter to make sure I don’t go too hard plus I’ve done them often enough inside and know what my heart rate should be so I try to maintain the same heart rate.

3 Likes