Sweet spot training

I’m very new to Trainer Road. I have just started to mix outside club rides (x2/7) with Trainer Road trainer rides (x4/7). I’ve had a history of alpine climbing events and trained by just doing long hilly group rides three times a week and two Sufferfest Climb sessions a week. I’m Time Trialling next season and start the Base Phase/Sweet Spot plan next week. I’ve noticed the Club Rides swamp the TSS score of the Trainer Road sessions to a point where using TSS to make decisions about whether I am doing too much or too little in the Build Phase is nonsense. My concern is that replacing one of my club rides (TSS = 350) with 2 Trainer Road sessions (TSS = 150) isn’t going to get me any fitter. I feel I’m probably missing the point. Can anyone give me reassurance or point me to a blog topic covering Sweet Spot Trainer Road Sessions and why physiologically they are better than long hilly club thrashes? Also under the scenario I’ve described how do I use TSS?

1 Like

This is the first point worth discussing. Not all TSS is created equal. You should, if you have the time and the understanding, look at where you are accumulating the TSS in those club rides. If you’re getting most of that in lower power numbers spread out over a huge amount of time then you’re doing basically traditional base rides already. If, however, you’re doing some pretty hard efforts and that TSS is coming over a relatively short period of time then you’re not doing something that fits into the base models.