SRAM Force AXS 48/33 chainring combination?

Hello TrainerRoad Forum,

First time posting for me. I was hoping the forum would be able to help me with the answer to a quesetion I cannot find anywhere else.

I have been using SRAM Force AXS for a couple of years now. I run a 46/33 setup with a 10-36 cassette as this works best for me in my steep mountainous terrain and 3.5 W/kg FTP. I feel the best setup would be a 48/33 chainring combination. Does anyone have experience with this? It is still only a 15 tooth jump compared to 13 and I feel the front derailleur can handle this.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Just don’t.
The gain will be miniscule: at 100 rpm, it is 59.3 km/h vs. 61.9 km/h. How often are you in your top gear at speed? Probably only when you are going downhill and are lucky enough to have a straight section.

Top end gear fomo is almost always misplaced.

For comparison: I am a bit stronger than you are and run a 1x12 Force eTap AXS setup. I live in Japan, meaning I am surrounded by proper mountains, but can also have pancake-flat rides along the coast. I have a 42-tooth chainring and a 10–36 cassette. Unless I am in a rolling road race, I don’t think I need any more gears. I spin out at 62–65 km/h, which is plenty fast on public roads with traffic.

2 Likes

I’ve done similar hacks on a Shimano setup and it’s been fine. If the derailleur can handle a 50t, it can handle the 48t, the little jump to the smaller chain ring shouldn’t be an issue. It may not be lightening quick, but it should work without problems. I would consider a chain catcher or maybe some protective tape around the BB just in case it makes your setup a little more susceptible to dropped chains.

Yeah, I definitely recommend against this, too.
The SRAM FD is explicitly listed to only be able to handle a 13 tooth jump and it is pretty unreliable even at that.
46/33 10-36 is my go to gravel set up, and runs really beautifully.