So Bummed... I went down 6 watts

So I am new to training. Just finished SSB1 and today I tested 6 watts lower than when I started. Yikes. :confounded:

Could be many reasons. Fatigue, stress, lack of sleep, fuel beforehand etc etc

4 Likes

I was at Legoland all weekend chasing a 5 yr old. Also, I hear morning is not the best time to test.

Ya, so don’t be bummed out. Do a few ‘easy’ sessions then do your ramp when you’re ready.

If you feel the test may have shorted your true FTP, use your SSB workouts as a guide. If you were completing them all at the prescribed intensities, you can probably leave the FTP where it is rather than accept the reduction. SSB2 is more difficult but SSB1 prepared you for it.

We fight for every watt on those ramp tests but none of us is physiologically static from day to day. Our bodies might be tired, fighting off a cold, under-fueled or emotionally pre-occupied. A hundred things can get in the way of a true measurement. I try to test the same time of day that I train, as FTP is ultimately a training tool that helps us calibrate intensity on the TR workouts. If your intensity is working out for you in terms of lived experience by meeting that intuitive standard of “manageably difficult” then you’re good.

4 Likes

Ask yourself “Am I stronger now then I was 6 weeks ago?” When you do you workouts are they easier? When you go on a group ride is it easier?

SSB is focusing on the basis of your FTP, your aerobic capacity. You’re FTP, and particularly the ramp test, has some demand on your anaerobic capacity which hasn’t been stressed for 6 weeks. If your old FTP was highly reliant on your anaerobic capacity before, it isn’t surprising that your FTP would go down.