Short power build & Long Sunday ride

I’m having a hard time recovering quickly after a 3 hr (230+ tss) group ride on Sundays. The ride consist of all power ranges.

The hard VO2 tuesday workout seems to come awful quick. Thoughts on substituting it for more of a endurance ride allowing a thursday to be a great work day?

Schedule would look like this:

Sunday - group ride (gym work if able)
Monday - off
Tuesday - endurance work
Wednesday - off
Thursday - Sprint work
Friday - off
Saturday - short VO2 work

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Seems good. Not sure about the sprint work, but its probably there for a reason. Tuesday could be a tempo/sweetspot ride if you can handle it. If not, then endurance is great. 230+ tss in 3 hrs is really hard, so that’s going to need at least 2 days of easy riding.

Experiment with it and see what works.

2 Likes

I’m far from an expert, but my personal preference would be to push the key workouts to Wednesdays and Fridays if your schedule allows- that way you get a solid 2 days recovery between the Sunday ride and your next hard effort, and the total workload is more evenly distributed throughout the week with at least a day in between quality sessions. As it stands, doing your two hardest workouts on subsequent days means you’re starting the group ride already fatigued and having to dig deeper to finish what is already a pretty demanding ride. Add the gym work in and you’re squeezing the majority of your TSS into 2 days and then spending the majority of the week trying to recover from it, which isn’t super efficient.
Again take this with a grain of salt, but I’d probably tackle it like this;

Sunday- group ride
Monday & Tuesday off
Wednesday- v02
Thursday- endurance
Friday- sprint work+ gym
Saturday- off

As a side note, if your Sunday ride takes until Thursday to recover from i’m not sure how compatible that would be with a structured plan- but that also depends on your priorities and what you’re looking to get out of both.