Runner Legs into Cyclist Legs

Hello, I’ve been a competitive runner for over 25 years. I’m 5’ 9" 135lbs and I have very skinny legs. This has generally been an advantage as a runner. I’ve recently switched over to cycling (body can’t take the pounding anymore) as a main form of exercise and I’ve even started to do some cyclocross races. My question is this: While my cardio is very good, I just can’t seem to generate the same kind of power that many other riders can. My FTP is around 190. My goal is to get to 240-250. I’ve been training with TR for about 6 months now. I started with an FTP of 160. In order to up my power do I really need to hit the gym and start doing weights, or will working with TR consistently eventually yield these results?

Thanks!
XCHuggins

You don’t need more muscle, just spin them faster.

1 Like

When I use TR my cadence is pretty high. I can do 95-105 RPM and it feels fine. So I’m not too worried about my spinning.

@Deej your question is what I’m asking. Do I NEED to hit the gym (which is yet another time commitment in an already busy schedule) or will TR eventually get me there.

If you want to get faster riding bikes, ride bikes.

1 Like

No, you don’t need to.

It may help, so long as you can maintain the additional training load, but as mentioned cycling legs will come - from more cycling.

You’re in a good spot with a big aerobic engine so just be patient.

I would say you’re already on track. Lets compare:

• your starting point is 160W/61kg = 2.6W/kg, mine was 198W/74kg = 2.6W/kg
  • after six month, you are at 3.1W/kg, I was at 3.2W/kg

I.e. we are roughly on same trajectory, and after 3y of structured training I was at 4.2W/kg at beginning of summer. It has fallen since then but this is different story (injury). Note: I haven’t done any additional leg training, just upper body and core exercises.