Replacing indoor workouts with outdoor RPE based workouts

Hello,

I’m fairly new to this topic. I’d like to replace some of my indoor workouts in my training plan with outside workouts, every now and then.

Today I was scheduled with Pettit. 1 hour easy endurance work on the trainer, ending up at 39 TSS. The RPE based outside-version of the workout, says 81 minutes with intensity 6 (Uncomfortable), which ends up at a TSS over 80. How come?

Best,
Erlend

Pettit, set for Inside, with Power:

Pettit, set for Outside, with RPE:

• Note: This defaults to 90 minutes, following TR’s typical 50% adder for Endurance workouts moved outside. Not needing to get into the good/bad of this, but just recognize the setting they use.

• Most important: Both workouts above show a planned 39 TSS

Look at the TR RPE info, that should presumably apply to their RPE based Outside workouts:

• RPE 6 corresponds to Endurance via this table.

Alternatively, look at a separate “Other Activity”, that is based on the following “Intensity Estimate” scale:

90 min and 6 Intensity… assuming parity between both scales… which I think is a problem:

60 min and 6 Intensity… assuming parity between both scales… which I think is a problem:

90 min and 2 (Easy) Intensity, which I think makes way more sense.

60 min and 2 (Easy) Intensity, which I think makes way more sense.

Essentially, I think there is a disconnect between their RPE info in the website, and the actual application when looking at the “Intensity Estimate” used for other activities. I have no idea if this pushes well beyond Pettit, but wonder how this all blends?

• In my ideal world, the RPE and Intensity would be parallel for consistency and simplicity.

I am tempted to move this into a TrainerRoad Software category, as a Feature Request, but want @IvyAudrain to take a look before I do that.

5 Likes

Chad out here KILLIN IT!
I agree, though, this pertains to TR software.