Regret of failed race move, how to learn and move on?

I’m still pretty new to racing, and curious how you guys deal with a failed race move, and how to learn from it. Had a road race yesterday, cat 4/5, around 40 miles in length. I stayed with the main pack the whole race and around 1k to go the bunch slowed a bit so I attacked. I hit power PRs and held 648W for 1:10 but got caught with around 150m to go and finished 24th.

I went all in. So I’m not that ecstatic about a 24th place finish. And now looking back I’m wondering if I should have waited for the bunch sprint. I have a decent kick and think I could have gone top 10 in the sprint. I feel like I traded a likely top 10 for a chance to win but got 24th. How do you guys deal with this mentally? I guess I’m asking how I can stop second guessing myself with that attack? Does it come with experience?

2 Likes

This would be the thing I’d hold on to.

Bike racing is, or should be, a constant learning experience. You fully committed to a strategy and it didn’t work out. That’s not the end of the world. You’re either a cat 4 or a cat 5 - having fun and trying new things in the lower categories is how you can figure out what will work for you as you move up

In my race experience at the lower levels the more regrettable thing is finishing a race with something left in the tank. You buried yourself and it didn’t work. That’s admirable.

Further - you took a shot at winning the race vs. a top 10? I’d take a win over a dozen top 10s

22 Likes

I did. When I got caught and passed I felt like I was standing still because I had nothing left.

I guess because I’m new, my view was that it would have been awesome to get a good result. But I see what you’re saying and would rather have a win.

1 Like

I think you made the right move.

A top 10 in a (local) Cat 4/5 race is worthless, IMHO. I think the only placing that matters in these lower categories is the top step, P1.