Recovery Week - How much?

Hello,

I am getting close to recovery week and I just started using intervals.icu to track my fatigue/fitness (Trying high volume and wanted to make sure I’m not overreaching). What kind of form should I be looking to achieve and hold over the recovery week? Should I try to become fresh (~10% form)?

I know that the plans were designed with recovery in mind. I just want to make sure Im fully recovered because this is my first time with this consistent volume.

Thanks,

Nathan

I think rest week will be highly personal. If it’s your first time with HV, why not stick to the plan, and if you’re not starting to feel better by say Thursday/Friday, then reduce workout length of the remaining workouts or take a couple days off completely.

I would definitely go by how you feel rather than having stats dictate things.

I’ve heard this on the podcast as well. Seems like it’s the only group that I’ve found saying this, wouldn’t mind hearing it from other coaches and why.

From my workout history in the base period, the first workout after an easy week I’m usually in the 0 to 10 range as far as TSB (fatigue) goes. In a period similar to a specialty phase my TSB will be a little higher, say 20 on the same day I mentioned. CTL (fitness) drops around 5 over the easy week in the base period but I don’t pay as much attention to that, kinda just is what it is.

Broadly speaking (non specific answer/advice):

If you’re following a prescribed training plan (from TR or anywhere really) I’d suggest following the plan. See how it treats you. You basically have no reason to adjust their recommendations at this point.

After you’ve finished the plan you should look back and see what adjustments you feel would help you in future plans.

Specific answer to your question