Recovery Drinks - 4:1 Carb / Protein Ratio

I’m looking to incorporate recovery drinks after my rides, particularly something with a 4:1 or 3:1 carb to protein ratio. Looking for something that easy to make and only requires mixing with water.

What do folks use? Does anyone use Hammer Recoverite or Endurox? Also looking for something that is not crazy expensive, or super sweet.

@ambermalika I think you mentioned recovery drinks in a recent Podcast, but I didn’t catch what kind you take.

1 Like

I use Cliffs recovery. It’s tasty, seems to hit the spot for recovery. The bag it comes in is garbage and it’s a bit on the expensive side.

Rego is also a popular option. I have no experience with it.

Skratch can come in nice single serving packs. Once again I haven’t used them.

1 Like

Use and love Skratch recovery (flavor is amazing)

3 Likes

Chocolate milk :wink:

We now know that chocolate milk has the ideal carbohydrate-to-protein ratio

It turns out it contains exactly the right sodium, potassium, calcium and magnesium electrochemical balance which the body requires for the muscle synapses to fire.

11 Likes

thanks :slight_smile: definitely not opposed to chocolate milk, just looking for something that I can have in the car with me, and mix with water after some training days.

1 Like

I like Recoverite, have been using it for about a year. Tastes great and no junk added. Expensive, but should last you a couple months if you use it for every workout on a MV plan. So $60 for 2 months or $2 per day. Hey, for only $2 a day you can have proper recovery as well, lol.

2 Likes

Hammer Recoverite, used it for years. Experimented with alternatives several times, but always come back to Recoverite.

4 Likes