Question: Freewheel coming off when cleaning cassette

Hi all,

Absolute newbie when it comes to bike maintenance. Degreasing the chain and re-applying chain lube was the highlight of my cycling maintenance career so far.

Today I ventured into removing and degreasing cassette and - while messy and awfully slow - feel like succeeded up and until installing it again. To remove the cassette, I had to use a cassette removal tool and a chain whip.

So I had put it back on, tightened again using the cassette removal tool. The moment I wanted to remove the tool which was still inserted into the cassette, I suddenly held the whole freehub incl. cassette in my hand, which say at least was unexpected.

• From my youtube research, I thought that the freewheel would be somewhat fixed to the wheel by some other nut, or whatnot.
  • I probably pulled quite hard as there was some resistance, but still, I was able to do it with my hand.

Before I get back out there riding my bike: Is this normal or did I make a mistake somewhere putting it together incorrectly?

Few pieces of probably useful info:
Giant Propel, Shimano groupset, thru-axle in the back

Thanks in advance for all useful feedback.

Photo of the mishap attached:

Not normal, there should be a freehub holding bolt which secures the freehub onto the wheel and is totally separate to the cassette lockring which secures the cassette onto the freehub.

Not familiar with the Giant wheels, but I think the most common way of removing/securing the freehub to the wheel is by removing the axle and then using an Allen key inside the body of the freehub, or sometimes from the non drive side. Can’t see how you would have removed it by accident unless you were following some very strange instructions for removing the cassette! So guess it was maybe never secured properly in the first place. Definitely should be secured now before you ride your bike.