Power way lower outside

Hi all

I’ve recently come back to consistent riding after a bit of a break (personal issues and work just meant I couldn’t ride as consistently as I used to). At my peak I hit an FTP of 275W at 74kg. I knew this was pretty accurate as I managed to do a 70.3 bike leg at 213w and run well afterwards.

Anyway, I have just started riding consistently again and did a ramp test that produced a result of 235 watts. I was surprised, this was quite a bit higher than I thought my FTP would be.

I have then done a couple of rides outside. These were purely ‘fun’ rides with no training intention. Just riding for the joy of it. On each one I did a bit of an effort, just to see where I was at, and I was finding it very difficult to hold 200watts. I managed a 12 minute effort at 200 watts with a very high heart rate. It felt like a threshold effort (for reference, I’ve been using TR for over 5 years and have done a lot a training, so am used to feeling what threshold and sweetspot feel like). As such, at a guess, I’d guess my FTP outside is in the 200 region.

I am at a loss as to how to explain this. This wasn’t fatigue, i’ve ridden outside 3 times since the ramp test with the same kind of result.

I have always found it easier to put power down on a trainer, contrary to most, but this is just silly.

Has anyone got any thoughts on what could be going on? The last thing I want is to train for a race and go into thinking my FTP is x and then find out that, outside, it’s actually x - 15%!

Thanks in advance

First question: How exactly are you measuring power (same exact device inside / outside)?

2 Likes

Your 12min 200w effort is essentially a sweet-spot interval.
12mins at 85% FTP is a hard effort, even more if you are not accustomed to feeling the effort level.
Id just crack-on with the training and see what happens after a few weeks.

1 Like

Hi Chad

Sorry, I should have said that!!