Power meter issues or am I really that weak?

Ugh! I went from excitement to disappointment. I am new to TR and have completed about 10 weeks of base phase. I was using a speed sensor, Cyclops Fluid 2 and Virtual Power. For my first ramp test I had an FTP of 254 which I guessed was high by listening to the podcasts. My second ramp test was after my first 6 weeks of base phase. I figured I should see a decent jump the first time I retested because I had never done any structured training before and was feeling better and better rapidly as I was adapting to the new form of training. For my 2nd test I had an FTP of 274. I always felt that the virtual power was quite high but it works for my training. I was able to complete all of the workouts but did have to dig deep a few times. Mostly I added to the workouts though.
Well, I purchased a new power meter (Dura Ace Stages Gen. 3 left & right). I just performed my first ramp test with the new power meter. It seems to be working fine. I zeroed it before my ride and both sides were connected. I had adjusted my FTP down to 190 for the test but it felt hard. I then adjusted it to 180. It still felt hard when starting out but I just went with it.
I ended up with an FTP of 106! I kinda lost heart looking at the numbers and maybe could have done a little better but my HR did reach 174 which is about as high as I ever see at age 52.
Frame of reference:
52 years old, 164lbs/74Kg, 5’10"/180cm
I ride with a friend who had his first ramp test recently with an FTP of 202 on a Wahoo Core. He and I have ridden together a lot and he is 20lbs/9Kg lighter than me. Based on his FTP and the fact that he is faster than I am I was hoping mine would be around 190.
I did several rides last spring and over the summer of 120 to 135 miles with 12,000 to 15,000ft of gain.