Poor Workout Poor Energy

I am new to cycling.

I set up a low volume SS base plan. I just completed week 2 (work out no. 6 - Eclipse). See below.

I really struggled with Eclipse. I barely managed to stick to power in 1st and 2nd intervals but by the 3rd interval my legs were absolutely cooked. I couldn’t complete it.

(1 ) Have I been overtriaining after just the 2nd week in the workout with only 3 workouts per week (total 3hrs. 30min per week)?

(2) I am planning to back off for three days and rest the legs properly and repeat the exercise. Is this a good idea? Or should I just put that to a bad day, rest well, and progress with the next exercise after a couple of days?

(3) Could it have been my nutririon? I had some Coucous (low to mid GI carb so fairly slow energy releaing) at 6:30pm. I started by workout at 9:45pm. So I waited 3 hrs 15 mins for digestion.

(4) Could it have been my homemade energy drink? I made it with 90 grams of refined sugar, 10 grams of salt, and a couple of drops of concentrated lemon, and filled with water to 750ml.

(5) Is 9:45pm too late for an indoor workout? Is there a recommended time of day to train for optimum power/energy output?

Your comments are most welcome!

Thanks for your detailed reply.

In response to your question on having water in addition to my homemade energy drink - no I just had the energy drink, no water. In your opinion would you recommend that I had water in addition?

First welcome to cycling and the TrainerRoad community. As you said you are new to cycling so don’t worry about not being able to finish hard workouts (it happens to all of us). The biggest thing is that you’re on the bike, having fun and being healthy. Muscle endurance will come with time and after a cycle or 2 you’ll be able to look back at this and feel awesome when you complete the same workout and feel like you could do more.