Outside workout on rolling singletrack (MTB) questions

I am new to Outside workouts, but I finally found a great way to make it happen on my MTB. I am using a rolling, closed-loop, 3.1 mile section of singletrack that is about a 15-20 minute bike ride over road and gravel/fields from my house. It is a less-frequented and less technical section of trail compared to other things around me. The other trails are less open, more rocky, with more dis-mounts required, and more heavily frequented by walking and riding users. I’m excited about the potential training this will provide for me!

My question for outside workouts on MTB: During an interval, is it my goal to be as constant as I can while also getting my NP in the recommended range? I am contending with loose and curving descents at times, so there is no choice but to slow down and to stop pedaling at times. Which means, that when I’m climbing or on the flat, I must often make myself go above the targeted power range in order to hit the interval target. I suppose it would be useful for my head unit to read “lap NP”, if I understand this right and it is a best practice.

In the couple rides I have done, I find that HR is pretty useful as feedback, though I know it can be variable. It’s often better feedback than the 3-s power I am reading on my Wahoo ELEMNT Roam head unit. It also accounts for all the other (non-pedaling) work my body is doing at times. For reference, I am using a Left-side-only Garmin Rally pedal-based power meter.