On board camera safety - USA

Dear TR forum,

I recently moved to the US and was wondering if any of you ride with a GoPro or similar for safety reasons? Coming from Switzerland where people are very considerate and having seen all kinds of crazy videos of inconsiderate drivers, even policemen, does it make sense to have an on board camera and if so which model is the best bang for the buck?

Thanks and have a great 2020 season,

Elvis

I started riding with one this year, SJCAM M20. Thinking about adding a second facing back too

If I were you I’d move back to Switzerland. Don’t you read the news? Here in the USA, Civil War 2 kicks off in November. :smiley:
Kidding aside, I have heard of Cycliq but I don’t own one. Cycliq Bike Camera + Safety Lights
I use a Garmin Varia radar to alert me to vehicles coming from behind. It is awesome, but of course doesn’t address the collection of evidence if a driver decides to run me over. I have considered buying a camera for the same reasons you suggest. Let us know what you pick.

1 Like

I use a Cycliq Fly12 and a Fly6 mainly because of the generous battery life.

I have an old hero 3 but it’s a bit buggy when the battery gets low, and that’s after only a couple of hours runtime. I do like the look of the old tiny black cube ones (gopro session) they did a few years ago though, and could probably be picked up pretty cheap nowadays

I use a varia to add to my on-bike safety, which has been great.