New TT bike...what to train on?

I have been doing triathlon for about two years now, and I have been using a road bike with clip-on aerobars. I just bought a real TT bike since I’m getting more into it and thought it would be worth the money. Now I’m not sure what I should be doing most of my training on, my road bike or TT bike?

TT bike. It’s a different position than your road bike with clip ons. And the TT position is a learned position. Different muscles in the TT position as well. Especially at higher wattages you want to be used to putting out power.

2 Likes

Absolutely TT bike if that’s your focus. Get that return on the cash you laid out by training on the TT bike through all your TR plans

1 Like

I’ve posted this before in regards to your question, but this blog post from former pro Jordan Rapp nails the question. Take the TT bars off your road bike, get it fitted for a proper road position. Do most of your training on the road bike, incorporate maybe 1-2 rides a week on your TT bike into your plan. When you get closer to race day, like 12 weeks out can bump up the rides on the TT bike to 3-4 times.

I’m more of a TT guy and I do not ride it that often unless I’m leading into the TT part of my season schedule. Heck even Justin Rossi, who was a stud TT guy would only ride his TT bike once or twice a week until going into Nats.

5 Likes

It comes down to hip position. If you’re riding in aero 100% of the time, and few people do who ride TT bikes then your hips are in a fine position. Sitting on the horns shifts you out of position and you are losing the benefit. Train more on the road bike, just need a couple sessions a week on the TT to be fine. No sense if spending a ton of time on it, working probably at a lower % of FTP, and just always being uncomfortable.
Different story if someone gets extra motivation riding their new TT bike. If thats the case then ride whatever works for you.