New KICKR Core - a few questions

I was lucky enough to win a KICKR core last week (especially lucky given my Saris M2 is currently away for a warranty claim) and have been using it the last couple of nights whilst doing some basic endurance riding. I have been comparing the power to my Stages left sided PM and I’m a bit perplexed why the power plots are so different.

I wasn’t expecting them to be exact but I have been using the Stages for quite a few years and believe it’s been very consistent. I wasn’t hoping to keep the Stages on my winter bike and use a different bike on my KICKR using that as the power source.

But things seem quite different in terms of power tracking I’m a bit confused.

Something I’ve also noticed is the time. By the time I end a ride, the clock on Zwift is about 8-9s behind my wahoo after 90 minutes for example?!? Could this be a factor?

Can anyone offer any input?

Kickr Core is +/- 2%
Stages Gen 2 is +/- 1.5% claimed (but there is a reason that Stages has the reputation of being a “power estimator”)

So this is a little outside the bounds, but not by a massive amount.

There are ways to reconcile this at the file level but its a pain, so honestly I’d recommend just using one power source or the other for the winter.

1 Like

I know Stages reputation can be a bit hit and miss but I’ve been using it for over 6 years and sense I know enough to know if something is not right.

Testing, intervals etc have always been as expected. Not had any shocks in the past.

I did some power testing with my Stages 2 weeks ago so just wanted to have confidence the KICKR is close enough to ditch it for indoors.

It’s not so much that the Stages Gen2s are “imprecise” or “inconsistent” it was just that the accuracy was highly variable across the various lines. You may have a good one! My Gen2 was very consistent, but just reported 30w too high.