My sit Bones are not Level - Options? Opinions?

Hey y’all. Brand new Trainer Road subscriber. I’ve been riding for about four years, and long ago remember reading something about a famous rider way back using a mirror to perfect his pedaling technique. So I had one set up like that for a long time, but with my new setup I moved it higher so I could see my torso in an effort to see how “aero” I was actually sitting on the bike.

And holy smokes did I learn something.

Backstory: I use a Trek Montrose Elite on my MTB and I’ve broke two of them on the right side over 4,000 miles, which told me that my right side sat lower than my left. And I kinda knew that anyway, but I didn’t realize that I’d broke the seat down to the point it needed to be replaced till I started having problems with my hip flexor a few months back. Changed the seat and a couple of “adjustment” rides later I was good.

Then I started doing SS MV 1-2 with the mirror and if I sit into my seat I’m twisted like a pretzel!

On sustained intervals it’s starting to bother me on my lower back between my kidney and my hip right at the belt line. I’ve had this problem a couple of different times and always worked my way through it, but I’m trained as an accountant and I have no idea if it’s even related, much less my wondering if there’s a better way or something else I could try.

Am I the only one who isn’t level in their sit bones who has this problem?

1 Like

Same. Just replaced a seat and had to carefully level my seat on a 2015 Trek Domane.