My Cycling Journey - Complete Beginner

Update: I’ll be updating this thread weekly with thoughts, feelings and progress with my training. You can find the weekly post hyperlinked at the bottom of this post!

Hi there,

I’ve decided to kick up this thread as I’ve had a hard time trying to find threads that show the developments new cyclists (complete beginner level) have made using trainerroad. My plan is to detail my progress over the course of the base, build and specialty phases so that new riders like myself can get a better idea of how trainerroad can be applicable for them.

So, a bit of background on my cycling “career” so far. I purchased a road bike (2019 Canyon Endurace AL 8.0) back in September for commuting after a few colleagues had begun riding and instantly fell in love. Since then i’ve been riding to work pretty much every day (13-14km each way) and recently joined a local group ride, which was a LOT of fun. During this ride, 50km with rolling hills, I got dropped at the end and made my own way home as I couldn’t keep up with them. This sparked my desire to improve even more, and led me to find trainerroad and the podcast. After listening to a bunch of the podcasts and falling way too deep down the youtube rabbit hole, I invested in an indoor trainer (tacx flux s) and purchased a trainerroad membership.

So with all that out of the way, here is the plan I intend on following and links to where you can follow my progress. I will begin the plan on November 11th.

Base Phase - adjusted
To start, I went back and forth between the sweet spot and traditional plans, but eventually settled on the traditional high volume plan. Reason being that I have the time to commit long term (flexible work) and love the idea of developing the fundamentals as well as I can (form work, single leg exercises etc).