MTB upgrade suggestions

Hi,
i need some suggestions in order to better integrate TR in my outside spins (when i’ll finally be able to go out again, that is…).
I never raced nor i’ve ever invested a lot of money in my MTB gear, but i’ve been riding in the mountains for more than 15 years now.
A few years ago i bought what for me was a substantial upgrade, and indeed i’ve enjoyed a lot: got a used Epic carbon 26" with some nice extras for less than 1000.
Since TR started logging outside workouts, i just upload the data from my Polar with GPS and HR; it works ok, yet now, especially with the possibility to actually do outside workouts, i’d really like to be able to properly use that function.
If i get it right, from where i’m at, i’d need a power meter and a Gramin 530; and the problem i see is with the power meter: crankset on my bike is an XTR m970 3x9. So that rules out the possibility to get a 4iiii arm, the most cost effective option i see.
What would you do?

• Swap the bike for a newer used one with a current XT crankset, buy the Garmin and a 4iiii arm.
  • Keep the bike and install a new (or used) XT with 4iiii arm and add the Garmin.
  • Send out my current XTR arm to 4iiii to get the power meter installed in it.
  • Swap to a used turbo levo that broadcast the power and has… :rofl:
  • Any other (and probably better) idea?
    Thanks a lot for the specific help!

For me it kind of depends.

If you are happy with the bike and the bike will be good for another year or two, I’d get a new XT crankset with a 4iii that you’ll be able to transfer over to a new bike and the 530.

I really like the feel of short travel 29ers so I’d go that route if money isn’t a problem.

I would not put the pm on the old crank that you won’t be able to use on a newer bike. But I live in Europe and 4iii is still a bit more expensive here.

Cheapest way forward is to send in your existing XTR non-drive-side arm to 4iiii and get the $300 retrofit.