How do you keep your head in the game?

I wondered how you all cope with those days when life just gets in the way and you cannot get on the bike, are just too tired or for whatever reason can’t hit the workout or plan you set for yourself at the start of the week.

I know I’m not a pro, I know I’ll never make money from racing and I know in the grand scheme of things it really doesn’t matter and that I’m still supremely talented :thinking::joy:

Joking aside, interested to hear people’s approaches to this and how you stop yourself from becoming irritable and moody

3 Likes

Trust the process, stay consistent with training and be diciplined.

6 Likes

Imagine you are looking at two versions of yourself. Picture them standing in front of you, dressed in your kit.

• One version is the one that gets on the bike and turns the pedals over. She or he might not complete the workout, might be fatigued and does an easier workout, but they got on the bike.
  • The other version goes and does something else like watching TV

Now fast forward 365 days, and picture the same riders.

What do you think they look like? What do you think they feel like? Which version do you want to be?

11 Likes

Mixing it up has been a big help for me. I have picked up running because it is logistically easier to plan an outside run than an outside bike ride and it’s an efficient way to get in an aerobic workout. So on days when I realize I only have 30 or 45 minutes to workout where I planned a 60 or 90 minute ride, I will run instead. Sure, it doesn’t make me a better cyclist, and I hate running compared to how much I love cycling, but it keeps me fit and sane when things get time-crunched.

I also try to combine social time and workout time to be more efficient and have some fun. Runs with husband and spin class with sister really help break up those dull solo trainer sessions, and it takes off some of the guilt of spending time away from family on the bike.