Highest power at low rpm?

I’d very much appreciate your experience and advice on the situation I find myself in.

I turned 60 last year. I’ve been cycling for about 15 years now and training with a power meter and WKO since 2008. My preferred rides are those that involve hard long mountain climbs so my main focus is high w/kg during sustained sweetspot and threshold efforts along with good endurance so I can repeat these several times.

During the course of 2019 three unexpected things happened

• My comfortable cadence for sweetspot and above efforts dropped from around 70 to the low 60s
  • I’ve changed from spending most time seated with occasional standing efforts to being comfortable standing and pushing a big gear just taking short seated pauses when effort needed decreases
  • My power has gone up beyond my expectations to a lifetime best with mFTP peaking at 4.9w/kg before a bout of sickness (quite possibly covid-19) just over a month ago. My single best ride was quite unexpected, a Zwift race that I only entered to burn off some Xmas food where I just went hard from the start and ended up setting all time best MMP numbers from 20-45 minutes (Strava https://www.strava.com/activities/2967917754/analysis])
  • I’m well into recovery now. Despite making a serious effort to do higher cadence whenever I need more power it just feels much easier to change up and standup. Yesterday I did a 2 hour race on the Zwift Pretzel (won by Romain Bardet!!) and was easily able to step up the power on the climbs. What felt hard was trying to up cadence on the flats https://www.strava.com/activities/3391077163 This ride also addressed on concern that I have that this style may be tiring for long distance. Actually I think it just the opposite.

This is contrary to much if not all of the received wisdom I have received and opposite to the approach of staying seating with high cadence that I have advocated myself.