High performance after drinking too much and crappy sleep

After drinking way too much and having crappy sleep I awoke, feeling a bit guilty. A leisurely and somewhat uncomfortable morning turned into early afternoon and I got on my bike for a workout. I wanted to go hard…and wow (!) was the power easy. I freaking drilled it, went faster than I have for the time (20 min) since 2013. I’m not saying I wasn’t pushing hard…but I never felt like I was giving it 100%, I never felt like I had to break pace. Just cranked steady, big watts (for me). (epic KOM reverse FWIW)

Now, I’ve been racing and training for over 30 years, with power since 1998. I don’t make it a habit to go on a bender the night before racing but, hey, it’s happened a few times over the decades. And usually…like mostly…the results, surprisingly, have been “high performance”.

I’ve also done it “right”, good nutrition, no alcohol or anything else, good sleep…and have had a vanishingly small number of performances like I had just last week. Rides where I was strong, in control, pushing hard but never at the redline, putting out really solid watts…yeah I just don’t get that very often after doing it “right”.

Now, this makes absolutely no sense. There is no way that poisoning and dehydrating yourself makes you faster. Yet…well I can’t explain it. I’m just gonna say it. I THINK MAYBE IT DOES!

Can anybody comment on this? Has it happened to anybody else?

Joe

2 Likes

Maybe you would have went even faster had you not drank alcohol and gotten more sleep???

I’ve also been riding racing bikes for over 30 years (more like 40 as I did some junior racing). One of my regrets is those types of performances. I remember a time when I was riding my friends off my wheel. It was like I Filippo Ganna for a day. But I never knew why I hit that form for a day or two or how to reproduce it for race day.

3 Likes