Haleakala climb training?

I’m aiming to do the Haleakala climb in Maui in the fall and I’m hoping for some suggestions of which plan combos would be suitable. It’s a steep 10,000ft/3048m climb over 36mi/58k and average times are supposedly about 5hrs with breaks.

I’m coming off a 2.5 month break from training because of an injury so am going to restart from base phase. The sustained power plans sound suitable but their long rides are only 2hrs. Should I double the long ride workouts? Alternatively the triathlon workouts have longer rides but are their ride profiles suited to a relentless climb like Haleakala? If so, would half or full distance be better?

I’m new to Trainer Road and any advice will be much appreciated. Thanks!

Most likely plan progression:

1. Sweet Spot Base 1 & 2
  2. Sustained Power Build
  3. Century Specialty
  • Don’t judge the rides purely on time. Many of those are Sweet Spot efforts and more challenging than you might expect. I suggest trying them as-is for now. You can always adjust if you feel you need more.
  • If you have not followed a structured training plan inside like this, I highly recommend following the Low Volume plan directly for a bit, then see how you adapt to it.
1 Like

the workout tips for all plans include notes about substituting a long ride on the weekend. If I were in your shoes, would go with the progression above and substitute a long 3-6 hour outside ride on the weekend. My outside rides usually include a 40-60 minute solo ride to a group ride, and then the same solo ride home. In my opinion, those long rides are critical to building aerobic fitness.

3 Likes

make sure you get lots of tempo, sweet spot, and even some vo2max in. that climb sounds awesome

Eh dont fret I did this climb on about zero training…Which was dumb, but do able.