Had to bail off a ride early today

I was scheduled to do Tweed +6 today and I only made it about 4 minutes into the first interval before my legs were screaming and I had to bail the ride. Even after lowering the intensity to 95% it felt too uncomfortable to continue and knowing I had 6 more intervals to go didn’t make it any better.

I blew though yesterdays ride without issues, I got around 7 hours of sleep and felt. Heart rate was normal and I wasn’t out of breath. I usually ride in my basement which is unheated and around 50-60F when I started riding. I assume my excessive leg burn was due to lack of recovery from yesterdays ride? I’m currently on sustained power build, low volume and ride 6x a week.

Adaptive training already modified a few workouts due to me failing this one, should I continue on or take a few days to feel it out?

There are several factors that could have led to you bailing out: fuelling, motivation, fatigue, etc. I would like to take a look at your trainerroad career page. Could you please provide a link to that? I would like to know how your training/riding has been in the past 10-12 months along with any significant life stressors.

In general, you should account for stressors off the bike in training as I believe it was mentioned in a podcast. Paraphrasing from what I heard from the TR crew: stress, regardless of whether it is from training in sweet spot or threshold, from work, travel, family, etc. is stress and your brain does not differentiate them. It treats stressors from all aspects of life the same way.

Maybe you’re getting sick. How was your HR looking? Hard to say what was going on, maybe you can post the ride file screenshot

I didn’t ride with an HR monitor the last week, it’s currently broken, but I wasn’t out of breath and my HR seemed normal for the effort.

@yajvans - Sent you an email.

if you weren’t out of breath, wondering if you actually were at your limit