First gravel event - advice needed

Hello everyone,

I’m doing a gravel event next month on the 28th in Palestine, Texas called the El Camino. It has three 35, 65, and 105. It is my first time taking on century let alone in gravel territory. I’ve been training for it since April, but still a little doubtful on whether I can complete or not. In the past, I’ve done a 65-miler on the road, which wasn’t a problem, but never anything to this magnitude.

Any advice you can give to a novice such as myself?

1 Like

Don’t go too fast and make sure to eat enough.

4 Likes

Echo that. Start out slowly and then go even slower. If you are passing people in the first 25 miles you are probably going to fast. You want to be passing people in the last 25 miles.

And yes figure out a nutrition and hydration stategy.

In terms of time, I would ballpark add 25-50% to the time you think it would take on the road. For me a normal century (not pan flat or super is hilly) is about 5 hours. For gravel it would be closer to 6-7 hours depending on how “gravely.”

4 Likes

If you just trying to complete the ride, make sure you take time to recover and refuel at the aid stations. You will save the time riding better after each one.

1 Like

I appreciate the solid advice, brethren. This helps out a lot.

1 Like

I’m riding my first 100 next weekend at Steamboat, SBT Gravel Blue course. After a good summer of gravel races under 70 miles and mountain biking I still plan on watching my HR, no power meter on my Cutthroat yet, eating a lot and staying hydrated. For the first 50 I’m in steady roll mode, then I’ll access and see if I want to get racey then next 50. I’m pretty competitive in the over 60 age group on gravel so my race monster may just kick in. This is a test if I like longer gravel them maybe Dirt Kanza next year to go with Brec Epic stage race.

1 Like