Fear of Road Riding/Improving Safety

Hi All:

Could not find a similar post to this, so I decided to create a new topic. I’d like to hear what others do to increase safety and mitigate their fear of riding on the road (specifically, due to motor vehicles).

I’ve been cycling for about 12 years. I’ve been using Trainer Road for 2-3 years now, and do most of my training indoors. However, I like to get outdoors at least once a week for a long ride. I’m lucky in the sense that I have a long greenway trail close by that I can ride out/back to get 100k. However, that gets boring when you do it every weekend, and there are other pedestrians you have to deal with (runners wearing earbuds, dogs on extendy leashes, etc.), and right now it is also impossible to social distance riding on the greenway. There is also something about the freedom of getting on roads and going different places/seeing different sights, but I often let my fear get the best of me to the point that I don’t enjoy the ride as much, or let it keep me from getting out of the door. I just purchased a Garmin Varia a few weeks ago which has been a game changer. However, it in and of itself does not completely mitigate my fears but It’s a piece of the puzzle. Is there any other gear/tips/tactics you can recommend to help improve safety/mitigate fears? By far and large, in my experience most motorists around here are kind and pass safely, but there seems to be 1 out of 500 or so that don’t give you the space (whether they are distracted, trying to prove a point, etc.) and buzz you too closely. I’ve thought about adding a camera (or two) to my setup, but that is really only good after the fact (which I still think is a piece of the puzzle). I’d like more ideas on the preventative measure side of things to improve safety and to give peace of mind.

9 Likes