Compatability with 1993 Trek 2200 16 speed road bike

I have an old 1993 Trek 2200 16 speed road bike. The rear drop out is 128 and it has a Shimano 8 gear cassette. Kickr and most of the other drives I have looked at online specify a 130 rear drop out and has an 11 gear cassette. I am guessing it will be hard to make my bike fit. The TacX Neo 2T also specifies 130 dropout but is compatible with 8 gear Shimano. Do you think it might work with my bike?

I am brand new to trainers. Your guidance would be appreciated.

Eight speed road width is 130mm. Your dropouts may measure 128mm but I bet your hub measures 130mm which means a 130mm trainer could also fit. It’s only 1mm to spread on each side.

The 6/7 speed road standard was 126mm.

I seem to recall some frame makers splitting the difference between 126/130mm for a wider range of compatibility.

1 Like

Thanks for your comments. I agree the spread is only 1mm each side. But then I have to deal with an 8 gear set up against a 11 gear cassette on the Kickr. But only ever having used a smart trainer once on a friends bike I am a little cautious.

Assuming the derailleur covers or moves across all 11 gears that comes standard on the Kickr, does it really matter that on my road bike I only have 8. Obviously the training effect will be different but I can live with that.

Anny comments welcomed.

The width on Shimano cassettes are all essentially the same. An 8 spd rear derailleur will cover the range (small cog to large cog), although you may need to tweak your limit screws. What it won’t do is shift well….your shifter determines how far the RD moves on each shift and it will move more than the spacing in an 11 spd cassette.

If you just ride in ERG, you can probably find a cog that works acceptably and then just leave it in that gear. You may need to put on an 8 or 9 speed chain due to width issues w/ the cog.

1 Like