Combination of TrainerRoad and Xert

Who’s combines Trainer Road and Xert, I’m a trainer road user for a while but since 2016 I mix both platforms in order to build my fitness. Xert advice me which workout I should do according to my rider profile and then I look in trainer road workout to match and perform. I try 3 times to cheat the xert system and I can’t. In my opinion the system is reliable. Number are equals!For me, it has been useful.

3 Likes

I tried Xert for 5 months last winter and found it too confusing. It was nice to have it confirm my FTP, but that was about all I got out of it. Measures and recommendations were TOO dynamic and it was difficult to understand the concepts they promoted. I don’t miss it. Keeping things simple helps reduce the stress of thinking about what you need to be doing.

9 Likes

After digging into the background on Xert’s power modeling, I came to the conclusion that it’s not a sound power model for FTP and for training.

Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but I would encourage you to dig into the research on the differences between Xert’s model, Critical Power, mFTP/iLevels and other power profiling and come to your own conclusion.

2 Likes

There’s no need to do a research when you improve you own numbers, I’m like a guinea pig!

1 Like

I use Xert & Trainer Road. I use Xert to keep track of my fitness and fatigue. I like the way it separates the different energy systems and points towards a polarised method of training which I like and which I think suits me. Like the OP my TR FTP and my Xert TP align very closely. The smart workouts are great when you can get them to work! I don’t seem to be able to get on with the very structured training plans and prefer the more dynamic and adjustable Xert system.