Chain scrubber tool worth it?

Hello, I am relatively new to biking and cleaning my bike as I am a fair weather rider.
I am getting better at doing a good job, I think, of cleaning my bike, however, the chain is my nemesis as I find it hard to get all/most of the old grease off (I am using wd-40 aerosol degreaser, household brushes, sponge, rags, repeat).
I have heard mixed reviews of the effectiveness of a tool like the Park Tool Cyclone Chain Scrubber CM-5.2. I was wondering if I had one of these and at least cleaned my chain more frequently because using a tool like this is both easy and effective, it would be worth it for me.
Any feedback is greatly appreciated as I try not to buy stuff I don’t need or that are not really useful.
Thanks very much,

2 Likes

I wouldn’t bother cleaning the chain all that much. I generally just wet down the chain enough with lube to make it drip and wipe off with a rag. For me, it’s “clean enough” at that point and lubed and ready to go ride with a silent drivetrain.

Of course, it’ll never get truly clean with that approach, so when it gets really bad and I’m ready to change the chain, I’ll strip the cassette and the chainrings and scrub them down.

Waxing seems to be the in thing and sounds like it’ll stay clean… but I can’t seem to be bothered by all the equipment it takes either.

3 Likes

For me, the Parktool chain scrubber is essential. Makes cleaning even the most grubby chain a pleasure and it’s done in a handful of seconds.

I part fill mine with Morgan Blue degreaser and top of with water. Spin it up and hey presto, clean chain.

I’m absolutely convinced that this short process extends the life of my drivetrain. Finish off with a drop of Finish Line Wet Lube.

7 Likes