Catch 22: HR and training at 68 after 20 yrs of desk?

Hi All,
Great conversations and info here that I really appreciate. I’m just starting out training, finished LV SSB1 week six and taking a new ftp test tomorrow. I am amazed that I am able to do this at all, which brings up my question about heart rates.

According to MAF I should exercise at 107 bpm (180-68-5 for sitting on ass for 20+). According to 220 minus age my max should be 158 and that puts zone 2 HR at ±110. Here is what I am not understanding: when I started exercising on a trainer, I couldn’t stay at that low a rate for any amount of time, like not even 2 minutes. So I ignored it because I felt fine and eventually in a couple of weeks was able to cycle for half an hour at 135 or so.

Now I can do 1.5 hours with an average rate of 139 on the bits that Chad has added in Brasstown. How on earth would I ever have been able to do this by exercising only at 110 bpm? Being old and sedentary my heart rte used to go that high cleaning the cat barf before my coffee. It would hit 135 while I was walking. Now my rate has gone as high as 180 and when I work in heart zones based on that rate I can talk and ride a long time in zone 2, around 140, without getting winded at all.

Some factors that come to mind:
When I was a kid I had a paper route for three years riding up and down hills with 40 pounds of paper over my head every day, heavier on Sunday
Until I was 45 I ran 2 to 3 miles every day. Then I had knee surgery and became sedentary. I also drank way too much beer and gained a bunch of weight ±50 lbs. The stress of my job and the lack of exercise gave me cortisol and high blood pressure. By the end of 2015 I would get tachycardia from almost any exercise. My doc put me on meds and tried to start me down the statin trail. So I had to alter a few things.