Cannot seem to recover after specialty block

Hey all! I am hoping someone has some ideas here. My background for the last few years has been to compete in obstacle course races (ocr). Mostly running. I am in good cardio shape coming into my first season of cycle training. I also did a ton of structured training for running.

I decided I wanted to buy a mountain bike and race XC this year until I can fix an issue with my ankle that put a pause on my ocr racing. I started training on the bike in December. Immediately felt good. Planned out the season on TR based on a local XC series. Went into SS base 1 in January. Went with Mid Volume so I could add outside rides. I am used to 500-800 tss weekly when training for ocr.

At the beginning of SS base 2 I had my first (and turns out only) race and finished 6th in cat 3. Not great but I loved it. Continued with the training and when I had a race scheduled, I would hit a local 5 mile climb segment at race pace since at this point all of the races I had scheduled were postponed or canceled.

Every time I did a ramp test my ftp went up. I got through build and felt like a million bucks. Every ride I went on I was setting segment PRs and crushing people I would ride with. I PR’ed the 5 mile test segment and could not wait to go into specialty phase and prep for my “A race”. I had a goal on the 5 mile segment and was looking forward to it.

Then things went south. Specialty was painful. There were several workouts I had to bail on. My outdoor rides were suffering and I started to question if I was actually going to peak for the race. I persisted with the training but maybe, after looking back, I should not have.