Can you complete the Tour de Nez workout? I can’t! Yet

Hi all! I’ve been riding for a couple years now and using TrainerRoad for a year. Took part in my first crit this year in the uk and went on to do around ten. Didn’t fail too miserably and was certainly a shock to the system and a different effort to what I expected, underestimating the peaks/accelerations and lack of recovery. Hoping to get some better results this year so trying to change my training to improve this for next year. One workout/race simulation I picked was tour de nez, picking it more for gauging if I’m improving or as a fitness test but also set it as a goal to complete it with no rests before next year.
I can currently get about 27 minutes in before my legs grind to a halt and then have to add rests to get any further. It seems a long way off that I’ll be completing this workout! How does everyone else find it? Are there people completing it with no rests added? Are the people that make it through underestimating their ftp or am I just poor in this particular effort?
Look forward to hearing peoples thoughts and experiences! And also maybe some training tips on how this area can be improved!

1 Like

Considering the specs 1 hour, 100 TSS, 1.0 IF… it will be incredibly hard to complete at 100% if your FTP is accurate.
Tour de Nez

I have never tried, and don’t plan to by the looks of that pure suffering. Ouch.

It is brutal, I don’t recommend it! When looking at other peoples attempts they also seem to fail or ones that finish it seem to have very low heart rates I guess through either being gifted a low heart rate or ftp being wrongly estimated

1 Like

I’m with @mcneese.chad, I think @chad missed his morning coffee the day he made that. IF of 1.0 is just brutal and I don’t know that completing it is the right benchmark. Or even if it is a goal of yours, perhaps find a milestone workout in the interim. Something like Huxley is really really challenging but also much more attainable.

1 Like