Can I manage this race?

First post, appreciate all advice / comments.
I have been MTB riding for 3-4 years, started by sons but they have bailed and I have continued.

I have entered for an event in 10 days and I am seeking opinions on whether I am over-reaching.
The event is a gravel race in Western Australia, 125km with 3000 + metres of elevation gain. Truly a big ride and all who have done it before would attest that the hurt zone will be visited multiple times.
The ride is on varied gravel surfaces and consists mostly of ups > downs > “level” zones.

I am 49 and I have been using TR for about 4 months. My A event was a 50 mile MTB race that has been cancelled and so this event ( the SEVEN of Nannup) has been a replacement so as to not waste my fitness gained.
I weight 75kg and my FTP has increased from 287 to 378 over the past 4 months.

Now, besides the stationary bike training, I frequently ride outdoors, gravel terrain.
However, the longest ride I have ever done was 77km with 1200metres of climbing… I felt pretty good at the end of that; tired yes but not beat. I reckon I could have done another 10 km at the end. It was a solo ride. completed in 4hours 14 minutes.
I appreciate that the vibe of race meetings can improve our performance considerably.

So my question really is - can a guy whose longest ride to date has been 77km / 1200m climbing realistically chew and digest a 125 km / 3300m event with a 10 hour cut off time? I have never tested myself beyond 77km and although I appreciate that we never know what we can acomplish until we try - there is the option of a shorter course at the same event ( 5 stages, 85km with 1600m metres of climb) that i can default to. I am pretty confident that I can complete the 5 stages ( it is the safe option)- but the 7 will be exhilarating to finish!

I appreciate any comments; particularly anecdotes of your personal increments in distance that you have either succeeded in or found too big a step.

Thank you

1 Like