Cadence in ERG mode

Hello

I am new to trainer road. I actually posted this question to to the podcast, but this forum may have been a better place.

I have a question regarding Working out with the ERG mode. I have been using my trainer for a few years now but only recently have been getting more out of it.

When I am doing a workout, and matching the required power; I usually find it a lot easier to spin faster so that the resistance eases off. I wonder how this translates into a real world situation.

In the real world I am not going to have the option to simply spin faster to make the pain stop. On the trainer I end up spinning at 100-110rpm. This is a lot faster than my normal 80-90 rpm on the road.

I guess my question is: For best results, should I avoid spinning faster on the trainer and just take the pain at my regular rpm?

Too an extent you can replicate the feel… until you run out of gears. You don’t have as fine of resolution as ERG mode, but you can normally hit a desired range.

I think you might … but only if you shift to a lighter gear (which is what ERG is doing for you, when you spin faster). No expert on this, but that is my experience.

Don’t you just hate that?

1 Like

I’m definitely new to cycling training, but as a “spinner” (high cadence cycler, i.e. 95+ rpm), I’ve received this advice from a few knowledgable folks (including a tri coach):

• assuming power remains the same, in general, higher cadences will put stress on and train your cardiovascular system; lower cadences will put stress on and train your muscular strength
  • although it’s highly individual, the sweet spot for cadence for longer periods of time is 80-95, and you should try to train throughout that range