Which direct drive smart trainer to get?

I will be basically using it exclusively for TrainerRoad ERG mode workouts. Here are my priorities (in order):

• Cost. Probably the biggest one, looking to keep it under $1k for sure. Ideally something around the $700 range, preferably cheaper. As a student I don’t have the money for the top of the line newest stuff. I want a warranty on it for sure, so buying used is out of the picture.

• Accuracy. ±2% probably, ideally better. I want measurements I can trust as much as a power meter. I have a quarq on my bike right now.

• How well it works in ERG. Want to do those microburst workouts effectively for example.

• Noise. I live in an apartment, and do my workouts at night. Want something quiet for sure.

I am fine getting a refurbished trainer, or an older model. I have 10 speed, so trainers with a cassette are going to be useless for me (since they typically include 11 speed). Any recommendations? I was looking at some of the older models like the original drivo on amazon.

I’d say look at the flux s or the flux 2

1 Like

Did the flux 2 fix the issue on DCR?

Or get the cycleops h2 since they’re on clearance now that the h3 is coming.

1 Like

I second the former cyclops now Saris Hammer trainers.

I dont use erg mode so for me it wssnt a problem.
I think it’s still a problem. But the S is ok

No, the Flux 2 is still NOT recommended by Ray.

2 Likes

3rd support for H2 trainer at that price. Nothing in the regular “mid-level” price point can touch it for capability or reliability. I have see too many limits and issues with the Tacx and Elite mid’s to recommend any of them.

Original Hammer or H2 will be solid for you

2 Likes

Another good buy worth looking at is the kickr core. Bit older tech but still a great turbo

The S is fine, but has a high power floor, which means you need to shift more than on another trainer. Apart from that it’s quiet and reliable (at least for me so far).

1 Like