What's the best plan to increase HR amplitude?

Hello,

I’m aware it’s a noob question, but I believe it’s central in my training abilities. I’m relatively new to cycling, as I’ve been riding leisurely for 4 years, but I really want to improve my skills. I’ve been using TR to that effect for a month now on a home trainer, and I’m really hooked.

My main issue is that my HR only ranges from 75bpm to 188bpm. With the first stroke of the pedal I’m already at 105, and even with a 100 Watt target at 85 rpm I’ll be around 120 bpm.

This makes it incredibly difficult for me when the road starts to climb beyond 6 or 7% and there’s no way I can deal with anything above 9% for more than a few yards. This is the area I’d really like to improve.

I’m still of course on the base phase build mode, and I’m aware that the more I train, the lower my initial HR will be, but any pointers to help me in that are are welcome.

I’m 43 with a 240 FTP (and 3.8 ftp/weight ratio)

thanks !

Lots of zone 2 - it sounds like you lack the aerobic base - although a FTP of 240W isn’t bad if your HR is at 120bpm @100W !..lots of steady miles will lower your resting HR which is what you’re interested in and make you more efficient so you don’t get that sudden spike as you start to pedal. If you live somewhere warm try to get outside for some longer easy rides…or do some of the longer endurance turbo sessions on TR if you can take the tedium…I can’t - then start adding the SS workouts from the plans - if you are on HV you could probably just do this but if you are on MV/LV then you might struggle with the o/u workouts without the aerobic base.

2 Likes

Is that low? I’ve been riding for years and my HR never goes above 190, ever.