What sport would you do if you didn't cycle? and how did you get into cycling?

What sport would you do if you didn’t cycle? and how did you get into cycling?

Something without a ball. I’m not good with those things.

Was a powerlifter for a long time before getting into cycling. Kinda wish at times I could do both without completely adversely affecting the other! Oh well.

I have previously been a wheelchair racer (sprinter), but ended my career after season 2012. Might probably still do that, if I didn’t have a crappy back these days. So now into handcycling, started because of trying to still keep myself fit, but now the “semi-pro” training has taken over again. :grin:

3 Likes

Football or Soccer as our American brethren insist on calling it. I got into cycling to have a better chance of surviving the family heart attack.

1 Like

Beer drinking and obesity? :joy: No, but really, most of my friends are runners, so probably that. I dabble in running from time to time, but it doesn’t do it for me as much as the bike.

I got into it a bit of an odd way. I learned to repair bikes before I ever really got into riding them. A friend was a regular at this neighborhood community bike shop and invited me along. Volunteers learned to build bikes that were then given away to community members in need, and then taught them how to maintain it etc. I had plenty of free time and wanted to hang out with my friend, so started going 3-4 days a week to learn a skill and do some good. 6 months later, I had passed “the test” (building your own frankenbike from scratch and then riding it around the block) and was officially a volunteer coordinator and teacher. Loved the community around bikes (it was a very all-bikes, all-tribes welcome shop) and the simple beauty of the bike. Been seriously training/riding for about 3 years now, but used to just love cruising around the city on old beater bikes I’d built myself.

2 Likes