Wahoo article on base miles - 16 hours per week minimum for benefit?

Clicked on an advert for Wahoo in my email tonight and although I’d thought it would be a typical base v sweet spot article it was actually a bit eyebrow raising.

Can you guy place the numbers in the article? Is this based on newer research that maybe I’ve not seen as I’ve been doing my own thing for a couple years now (just thinking about doing structured training again now, hence the curiosity).

1 Like

Thank you. It is just confusing: one say A, others say B.

In general I am rather sceptical when companies with a clear goal to sell their products publish “scientific” articles.

I guess Wahoo is more interested in selling devices which can be pushed beyond thousands of watts than to admit that constantly pushing less than 200 watts would be beneficial too. Also Wahoos Sufferfest is not really known for promoting non-suffering traditional base workouts.

Just my take

(And I like Wahoo products :))

1 Like

I think these sorts of articles are a little irrelevant as they always tend to assume that people doing low intensity volume are ONLY doing that and not incorporating anything else. I’m sure there are some people still doing that but I think that “little ring 'till Easter” thing has largely died out and most people training <15-20 hrs/wk are doing some form of intensity in there in some form.

I suspect those minimum numbers change very significantly if you add even 1 quality intensity session per week into the schedule eg a vo2, threshold, over/unders etc.

3 Likes

Absolutely: it’s the classic false dichotomy fallacy.