VO2Max/Sprinting, Cadence and Erg Mode

I’ve searched old threads and couldn’t quite find the answer to my question. I’m fairly new to this indoor training thing, therefore lots of questions. I have a smart trainer (Elite Direto) which I have just kept in ERG mode. This morning I completed Pierce ( 6x4.5-minute sets of VO2max repeats where you’ll ride for 15-25 seconds at 125% FTP and then “float” for 15-30 seconds at 88% FTP). In order to get to the power targets in the intervals quickly, my cadence has to shoot up to 120+rpms. Or I could maintain a steady cadence around 110rpm and it would take 5-8 seconds for the Erg mode to catch up, at which point in some cases the interval only had about 10 seconds left. All of this was without shifting gears, just let Erg mode do its thing. Over 120rpms seems really high to me (maybe it isn’t). I haven’t really paid attention to max rpms on the road or trail, but is 120+rpms useful or pointless?

I have Spanish Needle coming up which is 8 minutes alternating between 15 seconds at 140% FTP and 15 seconds at 40% FTP with a goal of maintaining a steady cadence. My thought is that leaving in Erg mode, the “microburst” will almost be over by the time the trainer catches up to the power target if I maintain a steady cadence. Is that okay?

Are sprints/VO2max workouts better done in Resistance mode with regular gear changes to hit the power targets quickly and to maintain a somewhat steady cadence?

Which is “better” for these sorts of workouts?

Thanks, everyone.

I am using a Neo. The lag is much less than 5-8s, more like 1-2s. For the really short stuff like Spanish Needle, I can still use ERG mode. Keep your cadence up and smooth, even in the rest periods. I am typically around 110rpm.