Vo2 intervals too easy?

Hi guys,.

I’ve been using trainerroad for about six months now and generally notice that the Vo2 workouts are easy (relative to threshold). I constantly read or hear people talking about having to really push to their limit on the Vo2 workouts, particularly in the last intervals, but I always have more in the tank. I notice this particularly when doing outdoor workouts and I am generally feeling like I have to slow down to keep the power in range. Today I completed keeper for example and the prescribed wattage was between 377 and 384. I started off within this range but drifted upwards to 426 on my last interval. Technically this is well into my anaerobic zone, but given I can repeat the intervals I suspect I’m within Vo2. Does anyone else have this issue? Naturally adaptive training picks up on this and suggests adaptations, but I can cope with those workouts well too… My levels never really get above 6 before the next step test drops the levels and I have the same issue.

As a side note I think my FTP is well predicted as threshold and sweet spot seem right on. The over Unders tell me that loud and clear :see_no_evil::joy:

Cheers!

2 Likes

VO2 and Threshold don’t have a stationary connection. Alot of the instructional text on the indoor workouts point out that the goal of VO2 isn’t a prescribed wattage, but obtaining and maintaining and extremely high and repeatable oxygen uptake. I would manually adjust your VO2 workouts to either higher power, or longer intervals and see how it goes.

2 Likes

There’s lots of threads on this, including a very, very, very long one :roll_eyes: