TT don’t give upgrade points?

Anyone know why that is? I’ve had a successful past couple weeks racing TTs thinking I was getting points to move up, only to find out later time trials don’t give upgrade points.

Frustrating that my best discipline doesn’t allow me to get points to move up.

1 Like

I can’t claim to know exactly, but a few reasons come to mind (all USAC based discussion):

• An individual TT doesn’t involve race tactics or team tactics. It’s you and the clock, and everyone else and the clock. Thus it doesn’t really make sense to categorize it the same way you categorize road races, criteriums, etc.
  • There’s risk involved in allowing upgrades from TT, specifically that a TT (or a triathlon) doesn’t prepare you in the least for crit or road racing. I’ve been racing triathlons (effectively TTs) for 15 years, and the group rides I’ve done over that time were far more effective preparation for my crit/road season. And by “preparation” I am not talking about “fitness”. Even with tens of thousands of miles in my legs, and a hundred group rides, and a hundred triathlons, I still started this season as a Cat 5, and for good reason. Yeah, I’m a pretty strong rider, but I still have buckets to learn about racing bikes.
  • Above in mind, imagine someone upgrading to Cat 4 based on a few TT starts, one clinic, and three fondos. Then they’re particularly strong, and enter a TT event with 50 people, and win it. They TT well two or three more times, and now they’re eligible to upgrade to Cat 3. Now you’ve got a guy who can race Cat 3 without ever having so much as really ridden in a pack, let alone raced in one. I don’t think you can safely allow that.
  • As has been said on the podcast many times, the strongest guy doesn’t often win road races/criteriums. Fitness is the ticket to the dance. TT is almost always won by the strongest guy, pacing ability being equal. As I said above, it’s just such a different discipline, it’s almost a different sport.