Training Mental Strength

Hello,

This is my first post to the Trainer Road forum. I wanted to post this to the world of cyclists as I haven’t read or heard much about the topic of the mental strength or the psychological battle cyclists have when it comes to getting on the bike. It would be really interesting to hear from others more experienced than I who may be in a similar situation and what their perspective or approach may be. It can often feel tough to keep the wheels in motion if you only have one window of time during the day of roughly one hour to an hour and a half for the longer workouts and if you miss this window due to the many reasons of not feeling one hundred percent it can effect consistency and mentality.

To give some perspective I am an early morning trainer who is starting my second season doing a Base, Build, Speciality phase. I normally have to get up between 05:45 and 06:00 to get my session in before work. I have completed the few opening workouts to SSB but when it comes time to complete the second or third workout mid week I am either aching or still feeling fatigued from the weekends riding or a Tuesday session. I know for me the colder temperatures and less daylight in the mornings at this time of year don’t really help me get out of bed.

Trainer sessions mid week at the crack of dawn when its cold are never easy. Skipping or missing workouts does lead me to become frustrated, guilty, feeling like a wuss and that I may be falling behind/wasting days. I’m sure many cyclists deal with the exact same issues and maybe worse than me after reading some threads on here,

• Do you skip sessions?
  • How do you re-structure the plan if you do?
  • How does one feel/wha to tell yourself when you skip?

I normally remind myself “come back and live to fight another day.” The other side to that coin is consistency is key to progress.

I look forward to hearing, thanks. :slight_smile: